Lynn, Lynn, Together We Win

Posted on July 27, 2009

0


There are so many things I want to write about, but as soon as I settle on my next topic, something else comes up. In this case, I feel it is my job to introduce you to Eugene Schneeberg*, candidate for at-large city councilor. If you don’t already know of him, he will be at the Community Brotherhood of Lynn on 15 Coburn St. on Wednesday, July 29 from 6-9 PM. (Call 617-406-8353 or go to www.ElectEugene.com for more information.

But it is also my job to bring your attention to this article in the Boston Globe dated July 26. In counterpoint to the gang related shootings that took place last week at Nahant Beach and other recent incidents, here is a group of young adults in Lynn working to change their circumstances and get out of gangs. Not that I would know, but I imagine it won’t be easy and they’ll need every helping hand they can get.

Finally, I have been busy uploading video of July 11th’s Peace in the City Youth fest. Not everyone’s performance is up yet, but if you’d like to check out the ones that are, just go to Lynnside Edition’s YouTube channel.

*pronounced as in “Won’t you be my Schneighbor.

