Random Thoughts After an Election

Posted on November 6, 2009

1


Kind of like Deep Thoughts, only Random.

This was a divisive election. Neither side spared the other from accusations, incriminations and dire predictions. The margin of victory was extremely slim. There were so many pros and cons to weigh, I had a hard time deciding who to cast my vote for. I thank Clancy for his service getting the city through financial hard times. I hope Kennedy will prove to be a competent and visionary mayor.

Today I noticed that the Eugene Schneeberg sign in front of my house was gone. I can’t say I have looked at other parts of the city with an eye out for campaign signs, but I can tell you I will be looking now to see whose signs are left. If indeed they collected all their signs, I applaud the Schneeberg campaign. It demonstrates they care, even after losing the election. May he continue to be a strong presence in Lynn.

Judy, please keep Jamie Marsh. If there is one Clancy appointment that should be kept on merit, it is him. He truly loves what he does and works to make the city safer and more enjoyable. I want him on my side.

Some parts of Lynn are downright rustic. I saw 3 deer today in the backyard of a house on a hill overlooking the harbor. This was in a residential area behind the Lynn Water and Sewer Commission off Parkland Ave.

We should all be thankful we live where we live. I’m reading “The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind” by William Kamkwamba. As a teenager, the author, who is native to the African country of Malawi, built a windmill from discarded parts and the knowledge accumulated from reading science textbooks and taking apart electrical devices. Everyone in his village thought he was crazy, but in the end, his windmill produced the energy to power his home with electricity and a water pump to battle the famine and drought that plagued his country.

Kamkwamba lived through famine I was horrified to read about. For instance, he tells the story of how he survived an angry mob in line for food from the government. One of the last to receive a portion, the price suddenly goes up and he gets cheated by the careless weighing of his bag by the government official. The people survive on a grain called maize, which goes up in price as it gets scarcer. They sell their livestock and belongings, which go dramatically down in price as the famine gets worse. “Because so many farmers were selling off their animals, chicken was practically free for people with money.” Kamkwaba calculates how many days his family will have to go with little or no food before the next harvest:  210 days.

