Leaving Boys and Girls Club

Posted on February 3, 2010

4


It’s an old stocky building sitting next to the Lynn Public Library. Inside, it could use some work, but it serves its purpose: to be a safe place where kids can hang out after school and do what kids do–play.

It was the last place I wanted to go tonight, but I had reluctantly agreed to volunteer a week ago, helping to prepare a meal and spend some time with the young adults and children. “Liberal guilt” (whatever that means) no doubt was my motivator, but let me tell you, I was the richer for having volunteered. The highlight of my evening was playing a friendly game of foosball with one of the kids. They were all good kids, and I got to know a few of them by name. They thanked us for the meal.

As I drove away into City Hall Square, I saw a group of 5 of them walking. Where? I don’t know, but the sight of them walking in the night caused me to reflect. If I hadn’t just met them, I would have immediately thought to myself, “What are those kids doing outside by themselves on the street? Up to no good probably.”

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Youth