Beach Bubbles

Posted on October 1, 2010

2


This is possibly one of the most amazing things I’ll see in my life, right up there along with anti-crepuscular rays, the lunar eclipse on the night the Red Sox won the World Series and a pod of seals.

The life of a beach bubble begins when frothy tongues of salt water lick the beach and release their spheres of trapped air upon the slick hard surface of the sand. If the wind is just right as it was this morning on Red Rock Beach, these hemispheres will maintain their structural integrity while appearing to race across the sand.

The life of a beach bubble is but a flicker in the big picture. I was lucky enough to capture a few. Will I ever witness them again? What other things escape my notice, coming and going in the blink of an eye?

Dog tracks

