Sign, Sign, Everywhere a Sign…

Posted on October 16, 2010

3


Blocking out the scenery,
Breaking my mind,
Do this,
Don’t do that,
Can’t you read the sign?

–Five Man Electrical Band.

This well-worn sign was posted long before our city leaders recently decided to protect Lynn from the onslaught of adult entertainment poised to infiltrate our pristine city limits. If only the president of the Lynn Restaurant Association had seen this sign before he asked City Hall if Lynn had an adult entertainment zone. That question blew up in his face and now we have a newly minted ordinance to protect us not only from strip clubs, but butt cleavage.

Local blogger Corey Jackson was on top of this from the beginning. But I seek to praise Corey for other reasons: he’s made it his mission to post city council agendas and minutes on his blog, Downtown Lynn. I am much more likely to see them there than to drill down into the city’s website.

The notice on the agenda for October 19 that caught my attention was the petition of William Booras for a sign permit at 59 Essex St. Mr. Booras operates the corner pharmacy on Eastern and Essex street. Here was something happening in my backyard. I decided to check it out. More on that later.

For now, here are some other signs I saw while walking the neighborhood:

And when you’re not a dog, what are you? I suppose this is good protection against part-time burglars. Maybe these people don’t have enough money to afford a full-time dog. In what alternate universe does this make sense?

Should I stay or should I go? Is this array of signs supposed to make me want to rent from the owner? If I were in the market, I’d probably look elsewhere.

Watch out for that spider, Mister! The blood on the window is a little too graphic for my taste, but good job. Very creative. Don’t worry, I won’t go in there.

Posted in: neighborhood