Food Project Needs Your Help

Posted on November 3, 2010

0


The Food Project

That the Food Project garden at Ingalls school is not responsible for rats or a haven for disruptive youth seems like a no-brainer to me. Quite the opposite, it is responsible for many good things including locally grown organic vegetables for our urban environment, an alternative to violence and source of jobs for youth and a source of food for the homeless and less fortunate.

So it bothers me that a poll the Lynn Item is conducting shows that 33% of respondents think that “it breeds rats and is a gang hangout.” Nothing could be further from the truth; that anyone believes this makes me cringe. 45% think it’s good for youth and the community while 20% think if improvements are made, the garden should stay.

So if you’re one of the 33%, I hope you stay open-minded and seek out as much information as possible. Please read my previous post in which I interview a neighbor of the Ingalls school garden whose words are quite credible.

If you don’t need any convincing, join what is currently 143 signers on the petition to renew the garden’s lease. Like it, Tweet it, email it to your friends, go door to door. Do whatever you can. Call Ward Councillors William Trahant (781-592-7463) and Darren Cyr (781-598-3601), who opposed the garden at last Wednesday’s Lynn School Committee meeting. Watch said meeting on Lynn Happens.

If you’ve never been to a school committee meeting, check one out. It was an eye-opener for me, and I don’t have any children.

Posted in: Call to Action