Earthquake Garden

Posted on August 23, 2011

0


Hayes Valley Farm

Image by edibleoffice via Flickr

I felt the earthquake today, 8 floors over Devonshire St. in Boston, though I can tell you I didn’t register it as one right away. The Lynnside Edition scale must be sensitive but a little clueless.

The interconnecting links of the internet later delivered me to this interesting website that I thought had some relevance both to the earth’s movement and our community’s interest in urban agriculture.

The Hayes Valley Farm’s story is an interesting one. It rose up from the ruins of the freeway as a result of the 1989 earthquake. Enjoy.

Hayes Valley Farm – An Urban Farm in San Francisco.

For more on urban gardening closer to home, click here and here.

Posted in: Urban Gardening