Good Reads

Posted on October 21, 2011

0


Every once in while, I come across a piece of journalism that impels me to put everything else on hold to finish reading it and encourages in me a sense of caring for the subject. I call these pieces good reads.

What makes a good read? Besides that sense of caring for the subject and the desire to voraciously consume the contents of said piece, an good story is paramount. A follows B follows C in what seems like inevitable progression. Rearranging the elements in any other way just doesn’t make sense. It’s not so much that there’s a beginning, a middle and an end, but a whole stream of events or ideas that cannot be told in any other order.

Why not great reads? I don’t know. Perhaps these pieces don’t need any hype. They stand on their own. No need to build them up. Besides, it’s only my opinion. My good reads might be boringly dull to others though I don’t know how that could be possible.

So not quite knowing what this blog is becoming, I offer the first in a series of good reads. In this week’s Phoenix, writer S. I. Rosenbaum serves up Voices Carry. “Marty hears things that aren’t there. Doctors say she’s schizophrenic. A new movement says she’s just human.”

I read this and thought that we really don’t know what someone else’s circumstances are at the first superficial glance. It’s so easy to see a heroin addict or an unemployed person on the street and declare that they’re just sponging off the rest of society when we don’t know the whole story.

Posted in: Good Reads