Neighborhood Upgrades–A New Series

Posted on September 9, 2012

4


 

Welch Florist on 121 Essex St. in Lynn, MA

 

My follow-thru with series of posts on a particular theme is not the best. Nevertheless, I give you my first Neighborhood Upgrade, posts singling out improvements to my neighborhood, my littler corner of the universe. I’m going to try to keep it local at first, but who knows what this may develop into.

 

Not too long ago, I noticed that Welch Florist received a fresh coat of paint. All I can say is that it really upgrades the neighborhood. Whoever sided this building did a great job, using what looks like an economical plywood board with vertical grooves called T1-11. As you can see from the photo, the upper sheets of the siding are scalloped where they  overlap the bottom layer. Kind of creative if you ask me, though maybe it’s just a trick of the trade I don’t know about. [From whence comes my fascination with this humble board? That is a story for a different day.]

 

On 121 Essex St. in Lynn, this family owned and operated business has served the greater Lynn area since  1947. According to their website, Welch Florist has been voted Greater Lynn’s Best Florist for 14 consecutive years by Market Surveys of America and Greater Lynn’s Favorite Florist for the 2nd year in a row by The Lynn Daily Item reader poll. I’ve been down there to buy flowers a few times and each time, they have gone out of their way to help me select just what I wanted and needed.

 

Do you have any neighborhood upgrades you’d like to share? Let me know by using the contact form or in the comments below.

 

Related Story: Be a Knight in Shining Armor

 

 

.

 

