The Tide is Turning

Posted on October 13, 2012

6


As I watched Thursday’s installment of Channel 5’s Chronicle on the city of Lynn, I couldn’t help but think about the rat my dog just killed. Sheena the greyhound, 11 years old, you still got it in you. You saw it, you chased it, you clamped your formidable canines on it, shook it and dropped it on the ground, dead. Good dog! You looked up at me afterwards, exhilarated, proud.

Today, we saw another rat, moving slowly, probably from ingesting poison. Well, I’m glad the city is doing so well. Downtown is coming back. The Diamond District is flourishing. Lynn Woods is our best kept secret.

If you detect a note of sarcasm in my congratulations, you’re not alone. Or maybe it’s just sour grapes.

Well, good job anyway. You’re up and coming, Lynn. The tide is turning, and it’s not just bringing in brown algae.

 

Posted in: Uncategorized